Français Home Search Contact Us

 Who we are
 Work Plan
 What's Being Said
 Resources
Acronyms
Articles
Definitions
EICP Consultations
 News
 Links

 
 

Definitions

The formal health research literature on collaboration in primary health care comes at the issue from different perspectives, and so descriptions of what collaboration really looks like, and what it delivers, vary.

Most definitions highlight that collaborative care is highly patient-centred and involves the co-ordination and teamwork of a group of primary health care providers, including both medical and non-medical clinicians. These professionals work together as a team to meet the assessed health care needs of their client or patient. The distinct skills and expertise of providers from different disciplines, and their varied care settings, are accessed during the continuum of care. The goal of collaboration is to have services provided by the health professional that can best meet the individual’s needs when and where they need it. Strong communication (in a variety of forms including face-to-face and electronic) and co-ordination also characterize these collaborative arrangements.

Interdisciplinary collaboration among health and wellness professionals involves [i]:

  • The development of a common purpose or care outcome.

  • The acceptance and recognition of complementary skills and expertise among different providers.

  • Effective co-ordination and ongoing communication among providers.

The Enhancing Interdisciplinary Collaboration in Primary Health Care (EICP) Initiative uses the following definitions:

Collaboration


“…an interprofessional process of communication and decision-making that enables the separate and shared knowledge and skills of health care providers to synergistically influence the client/patient care provided” (Way, Jones and Busing 2000). [ii]

Collaborative Patient-Centred Practice


“…is designed to promote the active participation of each discipline in patient care. It enhances patient and family centred goals and values, provides mechanisms for continuous communication among care givers, optimizes staff participation in clinical decision making within and across disciplines and fosters respect for disciplinary contributions of all professionals” (Health Canada, 2003). [iii]

Primary health care


“involves responding to illness within the broader determinants of health. It also includes coordinating, integrating and expanding systems and services to provide more population health, sickness prevention and health promotion by all disciplines. It encourages the best use of all health providers to maximize the potential of all health resources.” (Mable and Marriott 2002). [iv]

[i] CMA, CNA, Working Together: A Joint CNA/CMA Collaborative Practice Project, HIV/AIDS Example (Ottawa: CMA, 1996), p. 7.

[ii] Way, D.O., Busing, N., and L. Jones, Implementation strategies: Collaboration in primary care-family doctors and nurse practitioners delivering shared care, (Toronto: The Ontario College of Family Physicians, May 18 2000), p. 3.

[iii] IECPCP, Interdisciplinary education for collaborative patient-centred practice: Research and Findings Report, (Ottawa: Health Canada, February 20 2004), p. ii.

[iv] A. Mable and J. Marriott, Sharing the learning-The health transition fund synthesis series: Primary health care, (Ottawa: Health Canada, 2002).

 
Connecting

Subscribe to our guestbook to receive regular updates.

Get Involved
Make a Submission
E-surveys
Special E-vents
Share Best Practices

 

Spotlight on Collaboration
Angela Hardie is the occupational therapist and one of four case managers for the Geriatric Outreach Program on Vancouver’s North Shore. >more

Previous Spotlights

English Accueil Recherche Contactez-nous

 Qui sommes-nous?
 Plan de travail
 Qu’en dit-on?
 Ressources
Articles
Sigles
Définitions
Consultations de l’ACIS
 Nouvelles
 Liens

 
 

Définitions

Les comptes rendus de recherche officiels sur la collaboration dans les soins de santé primaires abordent leur objet sous différents angles, d’où la variété des descriptions des formes que peut prendre cette collaboration et de ses résultats.

La plupart des définitions attirent l’attention sur le fait que les soins dispensés en collaboration sont largement axés sur le patient et qu’ils nécessitent un effort de coordination et de coopération chez les fournisseurs de soins de santé primaires, qu’ils soient médecins cliniciens ou autres. Ces professionnels travaillent en équipe pour répondre aux besoins en soins de santé évalués de leur patient ou de leur client. Grâce à cette approche, les compétences et les connaissances spécialisées de chacun sont mises à profit pendant toute la séquence de soins, comme le sont également les milieux de soins propres à chacun. La collaboration a pour but de permettre l’accès aux services des professionnels de la santé les plus aptes à répondre aux besoins du patient ou du client au moment et au lieu voulus. Une communication et une coordination soutenues distinguent les ententes conclues à des fins de collaboration.

La collaboration interdisciplinaire entre les professionnels de la santé et du bien-être repose sur les éléments suivants [i] :

  • L’élaboration d’un but commun ou d’un résultat commun à atteindre en santé;

  • L’acceptation et la reconnaissance des compétences et des connaissances spécialisées complémentaires qu’apportent les différents fournisseurs de soins;

  • Une coordination efficace et une communication permanente entre les fournisseurs de soins.

L’Initiative pour l’amélioration de la collaboration interdisciplinaire dans les soins de santé primaires (ACIS) est basée sur les définitions suivantes :

Collaboration


« [TRADUCTION] Un processus interprofessionnel de communication et de prise de décisions permettant aux connaissances et aux aptitudes distinctes et communes des fournisseurs de soins de santé d’influencer de façon synergique les soins prodigués au patient ou au client. » (Way et Jones, 2000) [ii]

Pratique en collaboration centrée sur le patient


« [TRADUCTION] Elle est conçue pour promouvoir la participation active de chaque discipline aux soins du patient. Elle donne priorité aux objectifs et aux valeurs centrés sur le patient et sa famille, établit des mécanismes de communication suivie entre les fournisseurs de soins, optimise la participation du personnel à la prise de décision clinique intra- et interdisciplinaire, et encourage le respect des contributions de tous les professionnels. » (Santé Canada, 2003) [iii]

Soins de santé primaires


Les soins de santé primaires traitent la maladie en tenant compte des « déterminants de la santé plus généraux ». Ils comprennent « la coordination, l’intégration et l’élargissement des systèmes et des services afin de mieux veiller sur la santé de la population, d’offrir plus de programmes de prophylaxie et de mener plus d’activités de promotion de la santé, sans nécessairement passer par les médecins. [Ils] encouragent à utiliser au mieux tous les intervenants en matière de santé, afin de maximiser les possibilités qu’offrent toutes les ressources du secteur de la santé. » (Mable et Marriott, 2002) [iv]

 

[i] Association médicale canadienne, Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada. Working Together: A Joint CNA/CMA Collaborative Practice Project, HIV/AIDS Example, Ottawa, AMC, 1996, p. 7.

[ii] Way, D.O., Busing, N., et L. Jones. Implementation strategies: Collaboration in primary care-family doctors and nurse practitioners delivering shared care, Toronto, The Ontario College of Family Physicians, 18 mai 2000, p. 3.

[iii] Formation interprofessionnelle pour une pratique en collaboration centrée sur le patient, Interdisciplinary education for collaborative patient-centred pratice: Research and Findings Report, Ottawa, Santé Canada, 20 février 2004, p. ii.

[iv] A. Mable et J. Marriott, De la connaissance à la pratique : le Fonds pour l’adaptation des services de santé – Série de rapports de synthèse : les soins primaires, Ottawa, Santé Canada, 2002.

 
Branchez-vous!

Ajoutez votre nom à notre carnet de visite pour obtenir régulièrement nos mises à jour.

Participez!
Soumettez une présentation
Participez à nos enquêtes en direct
Participez à nos activités spéciales en direct
Partagez vos pratiques exemplaires

 

Pleins feux sur la collaboration
L’ergothérapeute Angela Hardie est l’une des quatre gestionnaires de cas du Geriatric Outreach Program offert sur la rive nord de Vancouver. >à suivre

Articles precedents